Announcing LiRN’s New Chair and Board Members!

LiRN is happy to announce that Vicki Whitmell has been appointed as Chair of the Board of Directors! Vicki is a librarian with extensive strategic and operational experience in the management and provision of legal and legislative information and the technologies that support its access and preservation. Her portfolios have included law firm, courthouse, academic, and legislative libraries. For 18 years she was a member of the senior executive team at the Office of Legislative Assembly of Ontario.

We also welcome two new Board Members!

Annette Demers brings 35 years of law librarianship experience to LiRN’s Board of Directors. She holds a BA (Hons. Law), LLB, and MLIS. She also attended the Hague Academy of International Law and participated in the Northern Exposure to Leadership Institute as a mentor. She was appointed as head of the Paul Martin Law Library in August of 2011 until June 30, 2022. She has taught Advanced Legal Research for thirteen years and is a member of the Standards Council of Canada Mirror Committee on AI and Chairs the AI Standards Working Group of CALL/ACBD.

Ted Chadderton brings vast experience as a litigator to LiRN’s Board of Directors. He handles complex litigation files and is known for being a voice of reason on files. He strives to consider not just his clients’ legal position but also a broader consideration of their business or personal interests. Ted was elected as President of the Simcoe County Law Association after sitting as Chair of the Library committee for nine years. He received the SCLA Outstanding Service Award. He was elected to the Board of Directors of the Association of Ski Defence Attorneys and to the International Association of Defence Counsel.

LiRN thanks Neil Guthrie for his service first as Vice-Chair and more recently as Chair and are delighted that he will stay on the board. We would also like to give our thanks and best wishes to Jessie Singh, who has left the Board, for his contributions.


Learn more about our Board of Directors!

Leave a Comment